2004 - 2008 F-150

Test drive was dissapointing !!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2005, 09:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Test drive was dissapointing !!!

I test drove a new 2005 FX4 supercab today. I have been driving Chevy for 15 years. I currently have a 1998 Z71 Ext. cab, all stock except BFG AT tires. I am looking at trading to Ford, so I went to the dealer to drive a new Ford. The truck looks fantastic and has impressive interior. But the ride quality fell way short of my expectations. It shook, vibrated and hobby-horsed for most of the first 4 mile drive with me and better half. Salesman then took truck for more gas and a short drive. They said take another route as the 4-lane we used first is kind of rough. I drove a route that took me to my place of employment and other areas with
smoother roads, The truck rode like a log-wagon most of the time. There would be stretches where we could imagine it was smooth, but mostly there was shaking that made the bed move around in the mirror with an amplitude of about 1 inch. It would acually become uncomfortable throught the seat and floor. The dealer tag stuck in the dash shook up and down against the windshield. The gas pedal noticalby shook my right foot. Dealer tried to explain flat spotting, but we put 30 miles on the truck and it never got better. (It has Goodyears on 18 inch). My dad showed up at the dealer to look at the same truck. (He drives an '03 F-250 7.3 diesel). He noticed something wrong in the first 100 yards. His F-250 is a cadillac compared to the F-150 we drove. The worst part is that I got back in my 7 year old 62,000 mile Z71, it was like night and day. My old Chevy rode MUCH, MUCH smoother and quieter that this truck.