2004 - 2008 F-150

Super crew with a longer box

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2004, 01:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Super crew with a longer box

I recently leased a 04 F150 supercab with the 6.5 foot box.I would like to have gotten the super crew but being a contractor I can not live with that 5 foot trunk they call a box.My ? is since ford makes the supercab with the 8 foot box and all the engineering is done for that wheel base Why can't they put the crew cab with a special length box onto that chassis.I mean it has to be peanuts to engineer a box compared to everything else.That truck I would buy the reason I leased for 2 years is hoping they come out with that truck and a baby diesel.My last truck was a 2001 Chev 2500HD Crew Cab 8 foot box with Vortec8100 nice truck but was killing me at the pumps

Old 05-16-2004, 02:29 AM
I leased a 2002 f-150 super cab with the 6.5 ft. box and I also work in construction, granted the extra room in the cab is nice, but I haul more cargo than people.

Short box trucks suck, no way arround it. For the extra $$$$ I don't think your getting a deal.

I like the concept of the Chevy avalanch, can't justify the price for it, but if ford could take that concept to the next level and offer rear seat's that fold flat into the box, allowing you to have a eight foot box when needed, and seats for passengers when your not hauling 8 ft sheet's of dry wall, or dirt, ect, I would buy it.

Old 05-16-2004, 09:16 AM
box

Most people who buy the F-150 do not need a longer box. I would not want one because it would not fit in my garage and I don't do a lot of hauling. If you need a bigger box that is what the F-250 and F-350 is for. Anyway, Ford will put the longer box on in the next 2 years.

Old 05-17-2004, 01:27 AM