2004 - 2008 F-150

DJM Lowering kits

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2004, 03:59 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
DJM Lowering kits

My dad wants want to lower his '04 4X2 and I have no knowledge on the new '04's, espicially 2WD stuff. I've been searching and found the DJM stuff...is this the way to go? I noticed it needs new shocks for the rear, but you don't have to change anything on the front even though you change the lower control arms? Could also use a little info on the rear lowering as well. Is the DJM the way to go for an '04?? Thanks for the help guys. Oh yea, recommendations on wheel/tire sizes as well...

Off the subject, during searches I have notcied quite a few people removing the blocks to lower the rear of their 4X4's....Why??

Old 05-12-2004, 04:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
When I first received my '04, I was very uncomfortable in the seats. I removed the 2" blocks in the rear to make it easier to get in and out of the cab and keep from feeling like I was sliding out of the seats. New Ford U-Bolts #4L3Z-5705 are required to do this properly. I don't remember how much these cost, but it wasn't excessive.

I also found by adding 3/4" hex nuts under the front of the seats, the driving position was greatly improved.

Still my wife was complaining about the height of the truck. So, I installed the Ground Force lowering shackles in the rear with the aluminum shims to place the rear axle at the correct angle. The truck is noticebly lower and is easier to get in and out of. Also, getting into the bed is much easier.

Last edited by hihosilver; 05-12-2004 at 04:51 PM.
Old 05-12-2004, 07:49 PM
You say you removed the 2" blocks from the rear?? Does this mean you have a 4 wheel drive? If I'm correct, there is no blocks to remove on a two wheel drive and my next question would have to be why would you want to lower a 4 wheel drive?? Why not lift the front to improve the ride position? But, to each his own I guess...No flames, just figuring it out.