1997 - 2003 F-150

Front brake rotors

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2010, 11:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front brake rotors

Hey guys,

I own a 2002 lariat F-150 Screw and I am replacing the front rotors on it. It's my first time doing this and I am stump right now. I got the old and worn out rotors out and there is a bearing ( I think ) inside the old rotor and I know it need to come out and put into the new one. I don't know if I am suppose to hammer it out using a mallet or something, I just afraid I will cause some damages to it. I was wondering if you guys could help me out.

Thank!
Tyler

P.S. I forgot to buy some grease for the new rotors and I was also wondering if you guys could recommend which grease would be the best for it before I purchase one?

Old 04-05-2010, 02:15 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
turn the rotor over with the threads facing up. take a screwdriver and a mallet (hitting from the inside) and work your way around until it pop out.

just look for wheel bearing grease

Old 04-05-2010, 03:27 AM
Originally Posted by Raptor05121
turn the rotor over with the threads facing up. take a screwdriver and a mallet (hitting from the inside) and work your way around until it pop out.

pop the seal out and the bearing will be right there. Don't hammer a screwdriver into the bearing itself

Old 04-05-2010, 10:25 AM
Thank for advice guys!

Old 04-07-2010, 04:11 PM
Originally Posted by Raptor05121

I forgot to ask one more question. Should I clean out the the used grease out so I can put apply the new one or leave it there and apply the new grease to some area that does not have grease inside the new rotor?

Old 04-07-2010, 05:57 PM
Originally Posted by FordDude33
I forgot to ask one more question. Should I clean out the the used grease out so I can put apply the new one or leave it there and apply the new grease to some area that does not have grease inside the new rotor?