Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

Spark Plug Change on 2004-Early 2008 5.4 3V

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 10:59 PM
Technical Article Contributor
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark Plug Change on 2004-Early 2008 5.4 3V

Bear with me, as I try to describe my exprerience with the plug change. I am not a professional, or claim to be, this is just how I did it, and it worked.

Here we go. 1st, I own a 2004 F-150 Screw Lariat 5.4l 3V. I have 108,000 miles on the truck. I knew that it was time to do the dreaded plug change after hitting 100k. So I researched online, mostly here on this site for probably 3 weeks straight before getting the courage to jump into this project.

This is the truck

Here is my engine bay. I did have to remove the computer and it's mounting plate to reach the plug on the passenger side near the firewall.

I purchased this tool online. This is the 9/16 plug socket with rubber grip inside. I do believe that this tool is absolutely needed to even start the job, rather than a standard 9/16 socket. I had to use one universal swivel (on top of plug socket) and 12 inches of extensions to reach both passenger and driver side plugs at the firewall.

I read all the tsb reports, in fact the tsb changed I believe during my research because the 1st one that I read said to use Kroil, and the new released tsb said to use some sort of carb cleaner. Anyways, I had ordered Kroil penetrating oil from an online company along with the recommended antisieze, and they did not make it in time. The antisieze was put on backorder so nothing came. I had read about some other penetrating oils, and PB Blaster kept coming up in conversations with various forums posts. So I went to Autozone, picked up some of this penetrating oil and some qualified antisieze.