05 brake pads wearing?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2010, 02:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05 brake pads wearing?

My 2005 F150 Supercrew 4x4 has 38k miles on it and when i go to back up and lightly tap the brakes, the rear ones make a squealing noise. The weird thing is that it doesn't do it when you are going forward. I ran my finger over the rotors and there is a small groove starting to wear on the very top of the rotor. I am by no means a mechanic. Should i replace the brake pads or what?

Old 02-26-2010, 03:01 PM
I had to change mine on my 2wd 05 w/ 39k on the odometer. And had to replace my fronts at 49.5k. Very premature in my opinion. I switched to ceramics all the way around, much better performance than stock plus a lot less brake dust. So my advice is to go ahead a change em out all the way around now since the fronts are gonna go in 8-10k anyhow.

Old 02-26-2010, 06:16 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Wagner Thermo Quiet semi metallics work great for my 05. Low dust and stop my heavy 22's fine.

Old 02-27-2010, 08:34 AM
well, its a sure bet that they are wearing... all brake pads wear...

If the noise is really annoying, change them. If its only when you back up and you can live with it, you might have some time.

How thick are the pads? That is the main indicator

One thing to consider... if you change them a little early you can usually reuse the rotors. If you change them a little late the rotors are trashed (with late being after you wear down to the metal backing plates).

I changed my fronts early and reused the rotors. I lost track on the rears and trashed the rotors... (luckily I had free rotors )

Old 09-25-2010, 01:16 PM