Brake Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2009, 05:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake Issues

Hello, this is my first time posting hope I do this right. Ok I have a 2002 F150 Super Crew 5.4. 4x4. Ok when I go to brake at a complete stop, before the vehicle stops all the way the petal hardens up and pushes back to where it was then goes back to normal braking and stops. It makes a strange noise at the petal when this happens. I hope this makes sense, It's kinda hard to explain,Does Anyone know what this is. Thanks for any help.

Old 03-27-2009, 08:19 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Does it feel like Metal grinding when you hit the brake?

Could it be the ABS?

Old 03-28-2009, 07:33 AM
Benny,
Sounds like your ABS is misfiring a little. Common problem on that year. Pedal gets crazy at 5mph right? I know because mine does it. Try unplugging the ABS harness under the hood and see if it continues. If that stops it at least you know what the problem is and can address it or prepare for the beating at the local shop. I have my ABS disengaged permanently because where I live the roads ice up alot and I don't like the whole ABS thing in general.

Cheers!

Old 03-28-2009, 12:29 PM
Originally Posted by maddogrfc
Benny,
Sounds like your ABS is misfiring a little. Common problem on that year. Pedal gets crazy at 5mph right? I know because mine does it. Try unplugging the ABS harness under the hood and see if it continues. If that stops it at least you know what the problem is and can address it or prepare for the beating at the local shop. I have my ABS disengaged permanently because where I live the roads ice up alot and I don't like the whole ABS thing in general.

Cheers!
Hey thanks for the reply, I'll try that. Ill let you know what i find out. And thanks again.

Old 03-28-2009, 12:31 PM
Originally Posted by Moltenice
Does it feel like Metal grinding when you hit the brake?

Could it be the ABS?