Ughh.. another problem.

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2008, 02:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Ughh.. another problem.

So I went to the carwash today, got the truck washed, and was going to vacuum out the interior.

Well when I went to turn my truck off, it sounded like the started was engaging. Hopped back in the truck and tried to start it, which it did, but I could still here the starter turning.

I live 5 minutes away from where I was, so I tried to drive it home... and it was running fine (besides the noise), then it died on me 2 minutes away from my house.

So heres my two questions:
1.) Anyone have any ideas on what it could be?

2.) Since this is my first time purchasing a vehicle (it's a 2005 F-150), what are my options as far as trading it in and getting something else? Like how does it work?

Trade value vs. amount still owed vs. price of new vehicle....? I don't know how it works.

Old 03-22-2008, 03:03 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
sounds like its time for a new starter. it sounds like the release inside in hanging up. i wouldnt get rid of a truck because it needs a new starter.

Old 03-22-2008, 03:15 PM
If the starter was staying engaged, Then it probably killed the battery form drawing so many amps for such a long period of time.

Old 03-22-2008, 03:22 PM
I would say replace the starter took me about 15 minutes to do mine, but my truck is much older.

Old 03-22-2008, 04:58 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Keep the truck & replace the starter! Your wallet will thank you!.....

Old 03-23-2008, 03:11 AM
Originally Posted by shaunakadub

2.) Since this is my first time purchasing a vehicle (it's a 2005 F-150), what are my options as far as trading it in and getting something else? Like how does it work?

Trade value vs. amount still owed vs. price of new vehicle....? I don't know how it works.

That idea does not work. Well not very well in terms of you having any advantage of sorts.