Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2007, 01:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Misfire

Was close to getting rid of this POS before I put around $3k into it...now I'm stuck with it for a while

Problem is:

Driving home through fog it started misfiring on 2+ cylinders. As the fog lessened, it went down to one, then full power again.

Went through some rain, and it started up again.

The CEL is flashing and the plugs and wires are fairly new, as I've been battling this problem for 3 years now.

Think it could be the coil packs?

i really don't want to put any more money into this thing...hoping to unload it next spring/summer. Its a 97, 4.6

Old 11-22-2007, 01:10 PM
use a code scanner and find out what code its throwing. that will help you decided what needs to be fixed

Old 11-22-2007, 01:21 PM
P030X

Substitute whatever cylinder feels like misfiring today for X

Old 11-22-2007, 01:26 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Water in coilpak.. You could try greasing the coils and wire with dielectric grease to water proof them. You just might need a new coil pak.

Old 11-22-2007, 01:26 PM
hmm. what kind of plugs and wires do you have?

Old 11-22-2007, 01:31 PM
Originally Posted by jethat
Water in coilpak.. You could try greasing the coils and wire with dielectric grease to water proof them. You just might need a new coil pak.
Where abouts for the dielectric grease on the coils?

I know I have put it on the wires where they plug into the coils several times...is there any other place I should be putting it?

I'm getting the feeling I'll just have to buy a pair and throw them into this thing.

Old 11-22-2007, 01:32 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
Waiting for more info lol - It's a friggin 97 , not a POS .. 10 years old and he's b^tching? I'm not helping this whiner sell it..

Old 11-22-2007, 01:35 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
anywhere moisture could get in.

Originally Posted by AAlmeter
Where abouts for the dielectric grease on the coils?