my wife dislikes my bent rod

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2006, 02:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a 97 f150 4.6 with 136,000 miles on it. Around a year and a half ago I left it parked for a week while I was on vacation. When I returned and started it up it sounded like someone was inside the engine beating a hammer. I had it towed to a dealer to see what was wrong and they said I had a bent rod and that I needed a new engine... which was going to cost me 4,500 to have done.

I want to replace it with another 4.6 and I was planning on doing it myself but I realized I have limited mechanical knowledge, not many tools, and even less time. I think I just need some advice from some fellow truck owners about my options.

I really can't do the work on it myself. I've narrowed it down to taking it somewhere and having the work done, or selling it and buying something new... and in either case I'm not really sure what to do?

If I sell it-- who wants to buy a broken truck? It still runs (loudly) and looks good, but it's been sitting in a garage for over a year... how much would someone pay for that?

If I try to have it fixed, where can I get an engine and how much will it cost to have someone install it for me?

Old 06-30-2006, 02:21 AM
Sorry I can't help you bud.. I have no clue on an engine replacement.. Although the folks on here are full of knowledge!! They can help you troubleshoot/make a decision or at least provide decent advice.. BTW welcome to the boards

Old 06-30-2006, 02:53 AM
if it sat for a while u likely just heard a dry valve train noise... cause rods usually break on these trucks and rarely have i heard of a bent rod on the 4.6L i bet that idiot mechanic didnt know that these were OHC engines and dont use push rods.. only connecting rods... so ur engine is likely fine. change the oil in it. and start it up let it idle for a bit see if the noise goes away.

Old 06-30-2006, 03:56 AM
Thanks for the welcome.