K&N filter

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2003, 06:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
K&N filter

hey all,
i have a question about how good K&N filters are. i have been using K&N for about 2 years now with no complaints. i have come to learn from others that have researched more than i have that K&N's are actually not as good as advertised. one of my friends in particular was saying that the filter is better than stock for the first 100 miles and then it was worse b/c of dirt buildup. also, he was saying that if you do not oil it perfectly, then the filter will be even more inefficient. i realize this is just one person, but i have been doing some research of my own and have found similar conclusions. what do you think? thanks for any input.

Old 03-02-2003, 08:41 PM
Hi Mile

Have you cleaned/reoiled yours yet?

Used K&N for almost 3yrs...I clean/reoil mine by time...dusty conditions here...seems to need it after 10 mo.

As i recall K&N says their filters, filter even better as they get dirty. So i think your friend may have been misinformed...unless for some reason after 100mi. filter got plugged? I check mine when i do oil change. Your engine will let you know if air filter is bad.

Something i did accidentally find out...was reoiling filter...shinned light inside filter while looking at outside...under a big shop magnifying glass...i noticed there were some voids in the guaze that my eye didnt see...so i used alittle more oil to cover those voids..I think that may have been due to my under oiling. Takes alittle practice...i have over oiled before I had to let filter drain on paper. That was using a squeeze bottle...i got better results with the spray can. More control for me.

A test i did...put new stock a/f in...test drove...then i switched to the dirty 10mo. old K&N...i really couldnt tell any difference. What i do know is the K&N has paid for itself long ago.

Good luck....OT

BTW...be careful...real easy to get paranoid here.

Old 03-03-2003, 09:00 AM