Is $200 too much???

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2007, 04:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is $200 too much???

I'm due for a tranny flush and just called the local shop. To do a complete flush and run full Amsoil Synthetic Tranny Fluid is about $200. They said that they would also throw in a tire rotation (which is good because I'm running big ole 35s).

I know 14 quarts or Amsoil Synthetic can get expensive. Plus it would be more than 14 becaue I would have to run a few quarts through first to make sure all the old fluid is out. I change my own oil, barkes, just changed my fuel filter and have done most minor mechanical work and mods to my truck, including installing a Body Lift. I'm sure I could probably do the Trans Flush and Tire Rotation with no problem, but I have an 03. I did a few searches and saw that the 03's usually don't have a drain plug on the TC. So, should I do it on my own which I've never tried before or should I just pay the $200 to have it done? Is it worth the $200 (w/ the tire rotation) or is that just way too high?

Thanks,

Old 10-05-2007, 04:43 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
You can do this job yourself also. There was a web site link a while back but I can't find it now. Basically you remove/drain the pan. Reinstall and fill what came out of the pan plus an additional quart or two. Remove the return line from the side of the transmission and slide a piece of rubber hose over it so you can direct the fluid into a container. Have a partner in the truck for crank and shut down duties!! While you're under the truck watching, crank the truck and pump out about two quarts, then shut the truck off. Add two quarts to the pan (through the fill tube obviously) and repeat. Keep this cycle going until you go through your 14 qts. I went through 17. Planned to pump through 16 just to be sure, then ended up a tiny bit short and had to pick up another qt to top off the system. Works like a champ.