Slave Cylinder Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2005, 12:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Slave Cylinder Replacement

Hey guys I am noob here, but I am car/truck freak like most of you. I am pretty sure my slave cylinder on my dad's truck(2001 V6 5 SPD) is toast.(Has the same problems as my Camaro SS had). My question is how hard is it to replace the thing? Are they any special tools required? I mostly a Chevy man so I am not familiar with Ford. Thanks for the help.

Old 12-11-2005, 08:32 PM
Well, it all depends if it is a 4x4 or not. Of course, either way the tranny will have to be pulled. The 4x2's are a lot easier because they don't have torsion bars. Once the tranny is pulled, it is just held in by a few bolts. Don't forget to bleed the system. Hope this helps and let us know how it goes!!

Old 12-13-2005, 10:40 AM
Originally Posted by fordninja
Well, it all depends if it is a 4x4 or not. Of course, either way the tranny will have to be pulled. The 4x2's are a lot easier because they don't have torsion bars. Once the tranny is pulled, it is just held in by a few bolts. Don't forget to bleed the system. Hope this helps and let us know how it goes!!
It's a 4x2. I was only able to work on it for about three hours. I have no book or anything to go by,just instinct.I have done this on my SS before so I know how to go through the motions. I just wish that:
a. the tranny and bellhousing were two seperate pieces
and
b. the exhuast was a more simple design

I have everything off except the exhaust, the bolts from the tranny and the starter is off. Hopefull once the exhaust comes off I can slide it back far enough to slide the slave off. I have most of the exhuast bolts off it just a matter of sliding it off just right. Thanks for the help, maybe I can fix it soon. Luckily I just purchased another used truck cheap so I have something else to cruise in until this is done.

Old 12-13-2005, 10:56 PM