Newbie here, a little confused

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2009, 12:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here, a little confused

Hi all,

Would like a little insight on something. I intend on buying some new tires within a few weeks and I stopped by a local 4x4 shop to ask some questions and was told that I should consider leveling the truck out (2004 F150) and then I could decide on tires once I know what the max tire size I can get to fit. After making the appointment to bring my truck down, they told me that they couldnt level it cause of my torsion bars? Currently I have 255/70/17's and I am not necessarily looking for huge tires. All I want is to raise the vehicle up a bit and level it out. (it really seems to be slanted forward). So my questions are

1. Can it be leveled and how?
2. Should I get a lift kit? (I dont want to go with the expenses of the doing a whole job on the suspension)

I appreciate the help. I prefer to spend money on my car, but I really like the look of a lifted truck and would like to do so moderately and as inexpensive as possible. Thanks to any and all who reply. Tires are desperately needed no matter what but would rather not have it look stupid if I change the height of the truck later. Just want to do it all at once. Thanks again.

Old 08-13-2009, 12:56 PM
Im not a pro like some of these guys, but you can put a 1" -3" level on that year model for under 200.00 easily and run up to 35" tires, go to my profile pics i have pics of 285s, 305s, and 35"s on a 2.5 level kit. ( If you have a 4x4 i would advise against anything over 2.5 inches because of the angels it puts on you cv joints.

All it is is a spacer that sits on top of your struts (somewhere in that area, ha ha), but there are other options like the Bilstein 5100s adjustable shocks but they will run a little more.

Last edited by Jordanp252; 08-13-2009 at 01:09 PM.
Old 08-13-2009, 01:12 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Need more info on the truck.