SuperCrew

Questions of a Soon to Be Owner

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 06:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Questions of a Soon to Be Owner

Hello Guys,

I am seriously in the process of buying a 2002 F-150 Super Crew 4x4 with 4.6L V8 Lariat. I have no experience with this truck or any other truck for that matter. I presently drive a Suzuki Sidekick. I would like to know what you guys LIKE and DON'T LIKE about your trucks.

I am thinking of buying this to be used as a family car. I just got married and have 2 huge dogs and am about to have a baby soon. I do a lot of out of town road trips and would like to bring the "whole family" along.

I also carry a lot of outdoor gear when travelling ie. dive gear, camping gear, wind surf gear.

Is this a good truck for my needs? Are there better choices out there?

Thanks for your help guys.

Old 09-20-2004, 07:23 AM
It will certainly fill your needs, just don't expect great mpg. You can search this board and find a lot of people who would like to get more mpg, but this is a HUGE vehicle. You will get better mpg with the 4.6. Overall, most here are very satisfied with their ride. At least I know I am. You may want to consider a topper or lid for hauling your luggage and 'stuff' in the back when making trips. Wife and baby may take up all the interior room.

Old 09-20-2004, 10:22 AM
You may want to look for a Supercrew with a 5.4L engine if you are going to need power-on-demand when you load up your rig, otherwise it should do great. Are you going to be driving in the hills or mountains much? If so, again, you might want a 5.4L. I see the rig you are looking at is a 4x4; again, this is more weight to push around which will affect your power-to-weight ratio. From what I can see by reading this forum; there is very little difference in gas mileage between the 4.6 and 5.4 engines.