1998 F150 SuperCab System Installation

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 11:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 F150 SuperCab System Installation

Hello.

I am a bit new to audio system's in general. My f150 has enough space under the back seat's to hold a cabinet with two 10's(i believe).
Now what i would like to know is:

1) Will I need an aftermarket amplifier, or is there one in the truck that I could use.
2) Is there a wiring, or audio system outline that show's where everything is, or is that somewhere in the Audio system book that came with the truck.

3) Where do I get started.

I am a complete n00b when it comes to car's and audio.

Any help, or a point in the right direction would be greatly accepted.

Thank's in advance for any help.

--Tyler

Old 03-02-2010, 11:40 PM
Technical Article Contributor

do you have an idea of the subs you want to run? you will need an aftermarket amp and id suggest a mono channel amp with an rms voltage over what the subs require

also youll probably have to lift your rear seat up to fit them under it in a box with enough airspace. (tried to get mine under there)

the wiring is fairly simple and a diagram will be in the box with the amp most likely.

do you have an aftermarket radio now? youll want one

Old 03-02-2010, 11:47 PM
I am currently without any of the required equiptment. I am wondering though, as im guessing you have done something alone the lines of this, what kind of Amp should I get. Alone with an aftermarket radio, and sub's type.

I was thinking of putting two ten's in the back, and maybe putting the amp in the middle(bad idea??). I have seen people who put the amp under the passenger seat also.

If I put the subs in the back, what would be the best way to wire it, should I just do it under the carpet, or run it along the trim to wherever the amp will be located.

Aftermarket radio: