System almost planned - what to finish it with?

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2008, 01:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
System almost planned - what to finish it with?

I'm buying a Ford Crown Vic Police Interceptor

Outside will be 100% stock, aside from some 20% tint... white with black cop steelies, etc. Everything I'm doing to it will be interior and audio/video. I am starting with an all-new system, no used/pieced together stuff like my Jetta. I want to have a top notch system within a REASONABLE budget. Sub-$2000.

So far I picked up 2 Boston Acoustics G5 12's, 4ohm SVC 450w RMS with Crutchfield's buy one, get one free promotion. I am building a custom box that will sit in the spare tire well of the trunk with the two subs upfiring (1 sq. foot air space each, sealed) on each side and the 2 amps (a mono + a 2/4 channel) under plexiglass in the middle. I have never built a box before but have enough experience with it now and a tendency to be a major perfectionist so I think it will come out pretty nice. Everything will be measured and drawn out in SketchUp before the final product is built.

I am thinking of an Alpine V-Power MRP-M1000 amp to push them. I have always liked Alpine amps and it fits the bill perfectly as far as powering these is concerned. My amps will be fed by a run of 0ga KnuKonceptz wire into a distribution block and 4ga Knu to the amps. What I need is a 4 channel (any brand) to power my door speakers, and recommendations on what to put in the doors. I also have no idea what to do for a head unit as of right now, either. Probably a double din with a touch screen of some kind.

What should I finish this with? Thanks.

Old 11-22-2008, 03:00 PM
Alpine F600: 100x4
maybe some polk or type R comps. i really like the type rs for the price
kenwood DDX512 hu: great touchscreen and its only about $500 on ebay

Old 11-22-2008, 05:10 PM