Sub/Amp wiring to factory head unit

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2005, 09:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sub/Amp wiring to factory head unit

I have a few questions to ask. I'm trying to install a 2-10" enclosure in my 99 f-150 ext cab. I have the risers, so space will be no problem. I have 2 Kicker Comp C10's (4ohm) They can handle 150w RMS or max power of 300W each. I have a Boss C450 2 chanel amp w/ RMS power(4ohms) = 110Wx2 max power(2ohms)=300Wx2. I'm new to this so I'm asking how to wire this amp/sub to get the amp to a 2ohm load. Do I just use both chanels and have the right in the right output and the left in the left output? I'm looking at the diagrams on crutchfield and i just want to make sure I get the amp down to 2ohms....someone please help me with this. I'm a beginner, and want all 600W.

Also I want to keep the factory head unit. Can someone help me out with wiring the sub to the factory head unit. Its one with a 6disc changer in the center console and I have the tapedeck on the receiver. I'm gonna keep this headunit b/c the last one I had in another car was stolen, even w/o the faceplate, and the amp comes with a remote control for volume. someone please help.

here are some links to my amp specs
Boss C450 amp specs

Last edited by Austi076; 06-16-2005 at 09:08 AM. Reason: ad link
Old 06-16-2005, 09:28 AM
premium

I believe I have the premium h/u if thats any difference...
Will I need a RCA converter...if so where would i get that?

Old 06-16-2005, 11:42 AM
First off you will need a line out converter to hook up the amp. You tap into the right and left rear speaker to get the correct output for your amp. Since your amp only has a high pass crossover, I recommend the N-85 or N-85V LOC from David Navone. http://davidnavone.com/adaptor_products.htm