Pre-1997 Models

Truck chugs on warm startup

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2017, 04:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Truck chugs on warm startup

My 1986 F150 long bed dual tank 302 EFI auto trans has been running well since my mechanic replaced both fuel tanks, the fuel pump, selector valve, injectors, map sensor, distributor, plugs, and plug wires about three years ago just before he retired. Recently I noticed the engine spins over more before it starts and "idles up" longer before it drops to normal idle. The truck then runs fine but I now notice that if I drive about 25 / 30 miles after the initial startup, turn it off and let it sit for 20 minutes or so, that when I restart it the engine "chugs" like the air/fuel mixture is off. I drive away and when the truck gets up to speed (35 to 40 mph), all is fine and it is fine until I turn it off then it again goes through the same "chugging" behavior. If you have read this far, you can tell I am not a mechanical whiz but I can follow directions so if anyone has a helpful suggestion it would be much appreciated.

Old 07-16-2017, 04:21 PM
glc
Received 761 Likes on 704 Posts
I'd suspect leaky fuel injectors. Throw some Techron in the gas.

Old 07-16-2017, 04:48 PM
Can do. Is there any way to tell which injector(s) are bad or must they all be replaced if the Techron relieves the sympton?

Old 07-16-2017, 08:39 PM
Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts