Pre-1997 Models

'93 clutch problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 05:01 AM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
'93 clutch problems

well, i'm hoping to hear the magic words but what it is is what it will be. trucks in the shop so im just wondering what the total will be and what the shop finds out.

weeks ago as i had the clutch in between gears as i let up i felt a serious clunk. No doubt it sure sounded like the transfer case or transmission. A week went by and the other day the clutch stuck to the floor with no resistance. couldn't get it into gear so had to be towed to the shop. the clutch master cylinder res. was ok along with the break fluid. However under the dash where the push rod and wireing harness attaches there was a tad bit of oil if you touch it with your finger and just a bit on the carpet foam underneath. Didn't look like anything major but i'm not a mechanic.

the transmission shop said first thing we need to inspect is the clutch master cylinder. I just only hope that is the problem. If it turns out to be the slave cylinder, i'm up a creek and totally screwed. My entire check from social security will have to go towards the check i'm sure. I didn't get a quote from the tranny shop if they find that the slave cly. is out but another shop before i took it to this shop told me 8, 900.00 is that a fair price?

anyway, this tranny shop I think is giving me an ok price. 130.00 which includes the parts and tax. plus 75 for the darn tow which they paid to the driver.

would anyone like to take a stab on what you think the problem is? again, master cyl was not losing oil as far as i can tell. but i haven't been keeping an eye on the fluid but i will from now on. oil is above the minimum line.

Old 03-22-2012, 12:45 PM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Sounds like the slave cyl, which as you found out on a M5OD-R2 involves tranny removal. Not sure on a price as I've always done it myself.

Adrianspeeder

Old 03-22-2012, 05:06 PM