Diagnosing hub assembly noise. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2012, 01:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Diagnosing hub assembly noise. Help!

I am getting so frustrated with my 06 4x4 lariat lately. I am no mechanic but I know my truck fairly well and do most of the work needed myself. A while back I noticed a weird noise coming from the drivers side front wheel when I made a hard turn to the right. It was really noticeable when coming off of a clover leaf type overpass with a hard turn for an extended period of time. With the window rolled down it was quite loud. To help diagnose the problem, I put the truck in 4HI and took the same turn and the noise was gone. I figured it was either the hub assemble or the half shaft. there is no noise at all when driving straight or turning to the right, only when turning hard to the left.
First thing I thought I would try is the hub assembly. I put a new hub assembly on it and just as I was torquing the spline nut at 20ft/lbs (me using my torque wrench for the first time and not knowing the sounds it makes when reaching the desired torque) i ended up over torquing it and snapping off the end of the shaft!!! Sounds funny now but not so much then : ) so I had to take it all apart again, remove the entire half shaft and replace that too. So now that I have replaced both items that I figured were potential causes of the noise, I put everything back together and drove it. The noise was gone.
Two weeks later, the noise is back but not quite as loud as it was before and of course on the same side and the same scenario. So I figured that maybe because the hub assembly was over torqued once (when the shaft snapped off) maybe that damaged something inside the hub that caused premature failure. So I got the hub replaced under warranty (thank god) and replaced it with the new one and torqued it properly at 20ft/lbs.
The noise was faintly still there!!!!!
Put it in 4HI on the same turn and noise completely gone! I am lost now.