Ford Factory Navigation install on 2005 F150

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2006, 11:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ford Factory Navigation install on 2005 F150

Hey folks-- this is hopefully some helpful information for folks interested in installing the 2007 Ford Factory Nav in their F150. These are my experiences--I'm not an expert, but I hope this helps...

Visit the gallery (I put descriptions on each picture for explanations)...
https://www.f150online.com/galleries....cfm?num=12543

I purchased the nav unit off eBay, but I made sure the item was a take-off from an actual F150 (and not another model). I also made sure to get the nav DVD and factory GPS antenna with the unit. I plugged the unit in, of course making the modifications to the mounting brackets (triming the plastic back behind them) and after I found a mounting location for the antenna, everything worked just fine. I have taken it out on tests, and so far everything is working great.

I've got plans to add an amp to the main speakers and then add a subwoofer as well. I'd say the unit has about the same power as the MP3/6-Disc unit that my truck came with (leaves something to be desired). So far I have added Inifity Reference component speakers in the front, and 2-ways in the rear. I think the extra amp will add more to the sound as well as the subwoofer filling in the low range. I'll post more pictures when I get around to doing all this over the next few weeks. Stay tuned.

If anyone has general questions about the factory nav, just let me know--I'd be happy to contribute. Enjoy...

https://www.f150online.com/galleries....cfm?num=12543

Old 12-08-2006, 02:25 PM
Factory Nav unit

Does this unit have the 6 disc & mp3 capability? What about the Sirius Satellite as well??
Thanks, BTW, very helpful.

Old 12-08-2006, 02:58 PM
Do you have the rear DVD entertainment system?

Old 12-08-2006, 05:36 PM