Lightning

New lightning owner

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2006, 02:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New lightning owner

Hey every one yes I am a noob on this forum. I just purchased a 01 lightning out of Florida. I am in basic training now and have not seen the truck in person yet. I do want to send the truck to a local shop to have some work done when I go off to my tech training for 7 weeks before I am stationed. This is what I am working with. I am sending the truck to a local shop in Roanoke VA. I am only looking to spend about 3K on the truck and don’t want any thing to extreme. The truck is bone stock so what I was thinking headers, exhaust, intake, TB, and pulley. With some light tuning. I don’t no any thing about the truck or what the best bang for your buck is and there is no one around here that has built one up so any help or input would be helpful.

Old 08-12-2006, 02:51 PM
welcome

No need to spend your money on the headers, intake and TB. You said you didnt want to get to extreme. Unless you are going to push the horsepower way up those items will not gain you anything.

The TB and upper plenum will flow ok for now, No real Hp gains with headers until over 500.

You will get many different opinions...here's mine, after the last 4 years and too much $$$ I can tell you what NOT to do.

6 # lower pulley
cool air kit with cone filter, all Lightning vendors have them.
High flow cats
E-fan
FTVB or Level 10 (shift kit)
DYNO tune.....

Dont put all this stuff on and drive it around town for a while before going to get it tuned. If you have never had a super charged vehicle you will be suprised how easy it is to upset the A/F ratio. Get your mods and take it to the Dyno asap. There a ton of other mods out there but you will need more cash. I started where you are in '01 and now I have a JLP built motor and a KB...... I wasnt going to get extreme either.

Old 08-12-2006, 08:38 PM