A/C Question - 99 XLT

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2005, 05:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking A/C Question - 99 XLT

Hi everyone,

I've got a 99 XLT, 4.2L V6. Last weekend, went on a roadtrip, high 90s temperature-wise both days, AC ran just fine. A few days later, I tried running the AC while I stepped out on my lunch break at work, and noticed that the AC would not blow cold. I checked a bit later on that day, and it still would not blow cold. On a whim, I turned the temp gauge to hot, and it would not blow hot either (on defrost, or any of the other panel selections. I had some free time this afternoon, and looked under the hood, to notice that when the AC is on, the compressor does not engage. I'm not a mechanic, and am not at all familiar with refrigeration systems in general, but I did check the continuity of the associated fuses (at least the ones that have associations in the manual), and they appear okay (the 10A under the dash in the fuse panel, and the 40A maxi-fuse in the fuse/relay cluster box under the hood). I also checked the seatings of the wiring harness/clips to make sure everything is seated securely.

That said, I am wondering if there is anything that would cause the HVAC system to neither blow hot or cold, and for the compressor to not engage?

If anyone has any ideas, I'd love to hear them, any information or comments would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Gabriel

Last edited by teknofear; 05-29-2005 at 09:18 PM.
Old 05-31-2005, 09:04 AM
jcc
does the blower motor work ? if the a/c comressor does not engage it usually means it is low on charge . the a/c system has a low pressure control on it so it will keep it from coming on if it was low.
you need to pu a pressure gauge on it to see what numbers you get .
you can get a recharge kit at the autoparts store it will come with the gauge on the can

Old 05-31-2005, 02:03 PM