Harley-Davidson

Mod question

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2002, 12:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mod question

I am new to this whole mod scene. In fact, the 02HD is the first performance vehicle I've ever purchased. Needless to say, I have a few questions.

I've been trying to do a little research regarding different mods, mostly exhaust systems, chips and pulleys. I've been reading posts on this site and have become a little overwhelmed by the amount of information.

I'm not sure where I should start. Money and convincing my wife are a concern (she is already complaining about the gas mileage), but I'd like to have an idea of what I WILL do.

Also, does replacing the chip affect the factory warranty in any way?

Any opinions and recommendations are welcome! Thanks in advance!

Old 08-19-2002, 01:43 PM
I am new to this whole mod world as well but I have learned a few things:

Mufflers and Air intake filters/kits give better gas mileage as well as hp (good thing to bring up with the wife!). They also don't require any special tunning. So this would be a good place to start.

Changing the pulley size, the size of your MAF, your headers, the intake manifold, or injector size all require some reprograming for the computer. Which usually means getting a performance chip.

Getting a performance chip is one of the "best bang for your buck" mods. Superchip seems to be the standard around here.

From what I understand, mods do not affect warrentee. But if you put a Flowmaster muffler on the dealer is not going to fix it if it breaks (only the original parts).

Check out the Computer chip forum for some good info. You can call Mike from Performance Products to set up a good mod strategy as well.

Most important, hang out around here for a while before making any decicions. The experience here can save you tons of money. . . I take that back, you'll spend tons of money but you'll at least have the exact truck you want.

Old 08-19-2002, 06:52 PM