First New car purchase... need some help

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2014, 12:47 PM

Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
First New car purchase... need some help

I need a bit of help with this. Pretty much decided on a 2014 Camry SE 4cyl. Only option I will add is the moonroof. The stock options are impressive and have everything I would need/want.

According to Toyota's site, set up this way with destination is $25,975. I know I don't pay MSRP.

Edmunds has invoice at $23,685 and the TMV at $24,333. TrueCar.com also shows their unusually low price that people have paid at invoice as being $23,708. I graduated college last year, so I qualify for $750 off a lot of Toyotas, but currently it only applies to the 2014.5 Camry so I want to wait until it's eligible on the 2015 redesign. I also can't tell if that rebate requres me to finance through Toyota Financial Services. I'm looking at doing this in Feburary/March and plan to get pre-approved for a loan with a co-signer so I get a better interest rate.

Here's where I need help: I plan on dealing with internet sales. Do I email a bunch of dealers and say what I want with a price just below invoice and see what happens? If a dealer agrees, how would I work in my Toyota graduate discount? I'm assuming I lock the price in then say I have it afterwards so they can't counter to compensate for the discount? I know ultimately I need that OTD price, so I can't get screwed with their payment shenanigans to make it seem like a good deal lol.

Last edited by TruckGuy24; 12-13-2014 at 01:11 PM.
Old 12-13-2014, 11:22 PM
Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts