First time home buyer...

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2013, 08:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time home buyer...

Just wanted to take you guys opinions...

I am planning on buying a house within the next 30 days. I have been shopping around for the last 6 months or so. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't getting in over my head.

I work a full commission job. I plan on bringing in 40k this year. I also am recieveing a 50k inheritance, 1k a month. I have ownership in the company. Due to that I end up oweing subatantial amounts of money every year on taxes, paid by the company.

Also, I drive a 2011 focus that is paid off.

I have been approved for just about any loan I want due to the income from the company (that money is automatically put back into the business).

I am 20 years old. I have 11k saved. I will have a $2500 paycheck on the 15th.

I am wanting to spend around 130k on a house. This will put me at around a $800 mortgage. I average 3-3500 a month plus the inheritance. Just wanted your opinion as to whether or not I am getting in over my head.

Thank you,
Sam.

Old 03-01-2013, 09:03 PM
Your car is paid off, which is good, but do you have any other debt? What are your monthly expenditures? That 50k will only last you for 4 years, and any mortgage is going to be at least for 15 years.

If I were in your shoes, I would bank that 50k over the next four years. Then, turn around and buy a house at that time (assuming everything is going well) and put that 50k towards the down payment. You will save an enormous amount of money in the form of interest by doing so.

Also, in the next four years, you could probably save up another large chunk of change to add to the 50k. You could probably almost buy the house outright without having to worry about a mortgage, or at worst a very small mortgage.

Old 03-01-2013, 09:41 PM