F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

Noob to PSD - Cruise Control Problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2008, 08:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noob to PSD - Cruise Control Problems

Hi, All

I'm new to PSDs and to the board, too. Did a search on cruise controls and didn't find what I need.

I just got my 96 on the road - 7.3 turbo PSD, Auto, long bed, 31.5's, dual 5 inch stacks, EDGE programmer. and it has about 200K on it. Starts easily and is extrEEEmely strong. Well, compared to my old DUDge 360 gasser.

First, it only gets about 14 at 60 cruise, flat road on the Ohio interstate. I'm disappointed with that, since many others have said they get or exceed 20 MPG. I'd like to figure out what to do to get more out of it. BTW, at 60, it's cranking 2000 RPM. I'm not sure what rear end gears it has but 2 grand aint all that hateful so I would imaging it has something longer than 4.11s.

Anyway, with the cruise set, the engine surges between 2000 and 2200 RPM and it does this all the time. The speedo sets rock solid on 60. Now, I am familiar with cruise controls and automatics and I don't believe this thing is normal. My other vehicles don't surge at all, especially on flat level roadway.

Does anyone have any thoughts on my 2 problems ?

Roger
Central Ohio

Old 05-31-2008, 09:47 AM
Whoever told you that they get or exceed 20mpg is flat out full of *****. With the exceptio of 1 or 2 trucks most peak at 18, but some only get to about where you are. Throw a trailer on and some go down below 10. 14mpg is about right for the way your truck is set up. If you are running 2000rpm at 60mph then you have 4.10 gears, as that was a very common gearset then. If you want better mpg then you need to go down to a 3.55 gearset if you can find one. Over 2000rpm you're getting into the engine power band, but peak economy is below 2000rpm.