Gibson Super Truck is AWESOME!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-1999, 09:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Gibson Super Truck is AWESOME!!!

I installed the Gibson SuperTruck exhaust system yesterday and it is very nice!! You can really hear the engine purrr now. It isnt very loud compared to some of the dual exhaust trucks I seen. I was hoping it wont be to loud, it is just right. At highway speed (60-80MPH) it isnt real noticeable. But when you put you foot on the gas you can hear her come alive!

Installation want that bad, removing the factory exhaust was kind of a headache and my dull saw blade didnt help the matters.

One question though...how would I know if I had an exhaust leak? Since this is my first time doing something like this I like to make sure everything is right.

Old 07-12-1999, 08:03 AM
I'm assuming your truck is a 98, based on your nickname. Where does the exhaust exit, ahead or behind, the rear tire?

Exhaust leaks can be tricky to locate. Depending on the location of the leak, you may be able to actually hear it when the motor is under load. I had this situation with my old truck. The leak was bad enough that if you hovered your hand over the leak, you could feel the gasses escaping. Over time, you may notice discoloration at the areas where the leaks are. See the black inside your old tailpipe, that's the discoloration you're looking for. It's very distinct & should be easy to catch. An old trick with the hog when mounting pipes up to the header.... smear the joint with Hi Temp copper RTV, prior to assembly. Hope this helps.
LM

------------------
'99 Black F250 SC 4x4 4.6L 5Sp 3.73LS
Bug Shield, 'Snapless' Tonneau, Alarm, K&N FIPK.
Plenty of mods in the plans.

Old 07-12-1999, 07:00 PM