Exhaust exit ....locations???

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2004, 02:28 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Exhaust exit ....locations???

I posted this in the other Exhaust forum also:

I have a flowmaster system with si/do coming straight out the rear. The chrome tips after 3 yrs are rusting from the edges back and I am replacing them with some 18" stainless ones. I was thinking of taking them from straight out the back to off to the side a bit. This would dump the exhaust tips out in front of the corners of the bumpers and farther back than the factory side location.
Has anyone exited there exhaust in this location? I dont want them straight out the sides and would like to change from straight out the back as everyone has them this way. The other reason is I am towing trailers more often and dont want my exhaust pouring straight back on them in the process.
Any pics would be appreciated so I can decide before Thurs when my new tips arrive.

Old 03-09-2004, 09:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There is a guy in my hometown that has his exhaust run right in front of the rear bumper, it comes out at an angle and it sounds excellent, IMO. It definitely looks different, too, I'll try to get some pics this week sometime.

Old 03-09-2004, 10:27 PM
Pickup Man,
That sounds like exactly where and how I want to do it. A pictures or pictures would be greatly appreciated. The guy doing the system is the one who did it for me in the first place and he is willing to exit them out where I want them. He wont even charge me for new pipes to switch it to the side. Since the tips rusted he cut me a deal...I pay for new tips of my choice and he will do any install and welding for free. I guess it pays to stop by and talk with him alot. I just hate to have it done and not like the look and make him switch it back.

Any pics would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-10-2004, 02:11 PM
Thumbs up

2000FordStyle