Driver's rear blinker and brake light not working

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2017, 05:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Driver's rear blinker and brake light not working

Hi guys,
I'm no electrician, but I know some basics with DC electronics. I drive a 2003 F150 XLT. So, about a week or two ago, I noticed that when I put my left blinker on, I suddenly had "The Fast Blink". Of course, the simple switch out the bulb method didn't work with my luck.

I pulled both driver's and passenger's side rear light assembly's apart and here's what I found.

-Passenger's side works completely fine.
-Driver's side blinker does not work
-Driver's side brake light does not work
-Driver's side running and reverse lights do work.

So since the running light does work and assuming that the running light and brake/blinker light have a shared ground, the ground should be good (please correct me if I'm wrong).

I swapped the socket out and the good socket does not work either telling me that the socket is not the issue.

Put a test light & meter to the connector itself - test light lights; good voltage
Put a test light & meter to the socket itself with no bulb - test light lights; good voltage

So now I'm stuck. I get a light with the test light and good voltage with the meter on EVERYTHING.... but at the end of the day when I put the bulb back in, I get nothing....

I've read that there is a common issue with the wires inside of the steering column, but if I'm getting power to everything, that shouldn't be the issue correct?

If anyone has any suggestions please send them this way. Thank you all in advanced!

Old 04-05-2017, 06:25 PM
Received 104 Likes on 97 Posts
I've been chasing electrons for four decades so I can probably coach you through it.

Your ground is good as you surmised.

You have a high resistance in the bulb circuit, probably due to corrosion in a connector.