Potential power seat install - What are these existing wires?

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2011, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Potential power seat install - What are these existing wires?

Model is a 2004 XLT. Am in the midst of planning to install some variation of power seats. I have searched both the 2004-08 Forum and the electrical forum and read every thread I could find on power seats. Also, I am an eletrical noob.

I have read repeatedly that the power seat power wiring is under the carpet. I looked under the hole in the carpet and can find nothing. Currently there is a conduit/Y junction of wiring coming out of the carpet. One branch of the Y went to a connecter that ended in nothing, with one dark green wire and one black wire ( I am assuming that this is power and ground?) The connecter was attached to the bottom of the seat, but went to nothing. Could this be used as the source of power for power seats? Is it fused and woud simply tying into the black wire ground it properly?

The second branch of the harness when to a large connecter and then splits out to a number of places, which I assume is for the airbag, seatbelt, etc. But it seems like there are a lot of wires in there for all of that. Is any of this existing wires for options I do not have such as memory seating or heated seats?

Old 10-04-2011, 12:01 PM
By the way, I do not care about installing the memory function or the heated seats. I have done my research and understand what is required to get those functions to work. I simply want to get power to the power seat adjustments in order to be able to move the seats.

Old 10-04-2011, 03:54 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
The wiring could be under the carpet.

The connector you found sounds correct, but you will need to check to see if it is connected to anything on the other side ( this is common with items like the fog lamps, 80% of the wiring is there, but the missing part is the hard part ).