resetting speedometer????

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 10:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
resetting speedometer????

i am new to the f150 online and stuff. i was wondering if anyone knows how to reset the speedometer. I took my dash apart to take a look at the light bulbs in the IP Cluster, and apartently I touched something i shouldn't have because now my speedometer sits all the way down at the Lariat label and while driving it is 10-15 mph off (slower). any ideas?

Old 01-29-2008, 08:03 AM
Originally Posted by ludachris18
i am new to the f150 online and stuff. i was wondering if anyone knows how to reset the speedometer. I took my dash apart to take a look at the light bulbs in the IP Cluster, and apartently I touched something i shouldn't have because now my speedometer sits all the way down at the Lariat label and while driving it is 10-15 mph off (slower). any ideas?
At this point I would call a local speedometer repair shop and see if they have any ideas - they will most likely also give you a free estimate and maybe even a diag.

Old 01-29-2008, 01:13 PM
thanks for the tip....i was actually trying to avoid having to use a mechanic...i just don't trust 'em and I hate paying for things I can do myself (hopefully)

Old 01-29-2008, 07:16 PM
You most likely will need to go to the dealer service department. The onboard management system has to know when the instrument cluster has been disconnected and needs to be reinstalled. I had a new FX4 instrument cluster installed in place of the stock one in my '04 STX and that what had to happen with it. I was switching to a cluster that had a tachometer so the management system had to be programmed. I'm sure the speedometer is dealt with the same way.

Old 01-30-2008, 01:56 PM
Originally Posted by STXDriver