Lighting Problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2007, 12:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lighting Problem

I have a set of 6" KC Slimlites on my truck that I just realized today weren't working. Narrowed it down to the relay switch was bad so I went out and replaced it. I went down to the local Checkers and unfortunately they didn't have the exact replacement switch that I would get from KC if I ordered it online, but they did have a relay switch that match it. I went out and plugged it in and now I have another issue. When I plug the switch in one light will light up even though the toggle switch inside the truck is off. If I turn the toggle switch on then the one light goes out and the other light comes on.

I'm no electrician so I'm looking for a little assistance from anyone who may be or who may know what I problem may be. Thanks

Old 12-06-2007, 12:33 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts
can you atleast draw out how it is all supposed to be wired up?

sounds like you have a problem with your switch side of the circuit, or the relay isnt hooked up right....

Old 12-06-2007, 06:24 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
After waaay too many years of experience, let me tell you what a very wise Service Manger once taught me a long time ago. "All stupid / weird electrical problems are a bad ground." He's been proven correct more times than I care to count.