F150online Forums

F150online Forums (https://www.f150online.com/forums/)
-   Care & Detailing (https://www.f150online.com/forums/care-detailing-22/)
-   -   Clay Bar questions. (https://www.f150online.com/forums/care-detailing/440787-clay-bar-questions.html)

DanielWalker10 02-08-2011 03:27 PM

Clay Bar questions.

i plan on doing the clay bar deal after all the bad weather clears up and as im noticed some small scratches and swirl marks. i got some questions though before i try since i've never done it before.

1. is there anything i do besides just hand washing it before i start?

2. should i get the mequires(sp?) kit from autozone

3. is it really worth it?

4. is there any other options that will work better?

5. for the most part, is it a simple process?

i know theres probably a write up somewhere but i couldnt find it.. lol

Adam's Polishes 02-08-2011 03:44 PM

Good questions -

1) All you really need to do prior to claying is wash. The clay will remove the stuff that didn't come off during the wash process, be sure to inspect the clay the fold/knead it regularly to make sure you have a fresh surface.

2) Until the end of this year there isn't much difference in any clay sold in the US. Automagic holds the patent and legally all that is sold here is their stuff. Gererally you'll find 3 grades and a rainbow of colors (fine, medium, and body shop) most stuff sold over the counter and to consumers is fine grade and it will get the job done for most people. The primary difference you'll see between one bar and the next is the size... the OTC stuff is generally smaller than the ones you'd get from us or other boutique retailers, but in all honesty the job will get done either way so the megs stuff will work fine for you.