Thinking of Buying a DA

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2009, 11:04 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking of Buying a DA

Applying wax by hand is getting old, so I am thinking of buying a DA to speed up the process but I don't really know anything about them. I see a lot of discussion on the PC 7424XP and the Meguiar's G110 - Which is the better product?

Also, I will be using this primarily for application and removal of NXT wax - which type of pads are best for this and do I need anything else in addition to the pads and DA?

About how many pads should I expect to go through during one waxing? I know I usually go through quite a few MF towels while doing it by hand. And do you just throw the pads in the wash to clean them?

Thanks.

Old 12-01-2009, 11:28 AM
Now, I'm no detail expert, but if I'm not mistaken, DA's are primarily used for paint correction. Orbital polishers are more for applying/removing wax. I have a 6" orbital polisher that I used on my motorcycle that I bought for less than $20 and a 12" orbital polisher that was about $50 from Sears.
I'm going to be ordering a DA later this week for paint correction to get rid of my swirls, scratches and marring.
I've used my 6" polisher on the truck before and I used all six MF pads that I have to apply the wax. I remove by hand w/ MF towels.

Old 12-01-2009, 12:20 PM
Just about everyone on here applies and removes wax by hand. The thought process on this is you have worked very hard at removing swirls and scratches why add something to the mix that induce a lot of marring after all your hard work. I do this on my F350 Crew Cab and feel your pain but I also don't want to add to the time and work that's already been done just to go back and do it again.

Old 12-01-2009, 12:27 PM
At work we apply wax with porter cables and polishing pads all the time. We hardly ever use finishing pads either. We are talking black paint too.

Removing wax is another story. That's always done by hand with edgeless microfibers.