New to Detailing ? for RockPick

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2005, 02:26 PM
ski
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Detailing ? for RockPick

Hi all i'm new to the detailing and have a few questions. I've been searching and reading and see that RockPick is the meguiars man to talk too. So I'll gear this towards him. Rock I'm using the 3 step meguiars to do my detailing, but since its new I figured I'd skip the cleaner. Should I use the cleaner or not. Then after I polish it I was wondering if I should put the #3 meguiars carnuba or #26. Also if I wanted to add the synthetic NXT when would I add this too it. Thanks for any helpfull info.

Ski

Old 09-19-2005, 08:05 PM
ski
I got another question. I read about people doing layers, after 24 hours, are you supposed to wash your vehicle again before applying the other layer. I guess if you vehicle is garage kept you wouldn't have too.

Old 09-19-2005, 08:58 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hey ski, next dyno day I will bring my detailing supplies and show you how to clean that nice truck properly
I wash mine, dry it good, than use either the #26 yellow wax, or if I am lazy I use the new Tech wax....I apply it with my Porter Cable and remove it with a microfiber towel.....I did use some of the Scratch-x and the polish before waxing it right before the dyno session.....

Old 09-19-2005, 09:01 PM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by ski
Should I use the cleaner or not. Then after I polish it I was wondering if I should put the #3 meguiars carnuba or #26. Also if I wanted to add the synthetic NXT when would I add this too it. Thanks for any helpfull info.
Rather than the cleaner, have you considered a clay bar treatment? This is going to do a MUCH better job than the cleaner can do with any bonded contaminants. I'd probably skip the cleaner step on an 05' but, that's just me.