Pro detailing worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2004, 07:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pro detailing worth it?

I am no pro detailer. I do try to was my truck at least once a week and keep a good coat or two of wax on it (NXT). My question is, would it be worth it to have my truck detailed once a year or so or would their waxes and polishes not work well with my NXT? Also, if I need to, when is the best time of year to have it detailed, just before winter for protection or just after so it looks good in the summer? What should I look for when shopping around for a detailer? Thanks for any opinions.

Old 05-16-2004, 07:48 PM
I haven’t heard if the NXT is as durable as Zaino. In other words if it will last as long. It is a synthetic like Zaino so I would think it would last as long. 3 coats of Zaino will last a good 4 – 6 months no problem so I can’t see why 3 coats of NXT wouldn’t last as long.

With that said I would say no that professional detailing is not worth it. You sometimes have to look long and hard to actually find a “real” professional detailer. That is basically the reason I went researching a few years back to find a product that I could use and would do what I needed, a great shine to last a good while and not have to use a buffer. I found Zaino and it works for me.

I got tired of the “professional” detailers getting wax residue on my plastic trim then cover it up only for me to find it the next time I washed the truck.

Since your winters are most likely like ours here in NH, snow, salt etc I would recommend either a 3 coats of the NXT towards the end of fall, before it gets to cold to do it by hand, or if you choose to go to a detailer take it then. That way your paint will be protected through winter.