Question about 5 channel amp

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-1999, 10:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Question about 5 channel amp

I've decided to start working on a nice stereo setup for my new F150. My plan is to replace the head unit and all 4 speakers and put a couple of subs under the rear seat of the extended cab. I've been looking at a Sony amp (XM-405EQX) that is rated at 40W x 4, plus 100W x 1. My Crutchfield catalog says that this series of amps (XM-xxxEQX) is 2 Ohm stable in stereo. So, my question is this...can I run a 4 Ohm load on the 4 channels (main speakers) AND a 2 Ohm load on the 5th channel (subwoofers) or do all 5 channels have to run the same load?

Also, if you have any recommendations of any similar amps (5 channel with built in crossover) at a similar price ($300-$400) with similar power, please let me know.

Thanks for any info, as I am VERY new to this stuff, but am really loooking forward to starting on it!

------------------
99.5 F150 X-Cab 4x4 SB, 5.4L V8, Deep Wedgewood Blue/Dark Graphite, Off-Road Pkg, 3.73 Limited Slip, Tow Pkg, Captain's Chairs, CD, Airaid, Luvernve Stainless Nerf Bars, Lund Frontrunner bug deflector, Lund Eclipse taillight covers, Lund Eclipse side window covers.

Old 08-09-1999, 11:33 AM
Call a Crutchfield Sales advisor and ask that question. I'll bet they would have the answer.

Later,
ALA G8R

------------------
97 Lariet SC Flare 4x4, Red/Silver, 5.4L, 3.55LS, ORP
**Superchip, K&N w/ ABM, Flowmaster
** Westin Nerf Bars, Soft Tonneau, Bel Radar Detecter
** Pioneer CD Player, Infinity 57.1CS components up front, Polk 572a's in back, MTX 5000 Thunderform subs, 300 Watt Soundstream Amp for sub, Rockford Fosgate 400a4 for front/rear, Audio Control EQX.

Old 08-09-1999, 01:02 PM