Please help me find an amp....

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 08:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Please help me find an amp....

I want to buy an amp but because I have no prior experience with car audio I don't even know where to start. This amp is going to power my front and rear speakers. I plan on putting MB Quart Reference RCE 268 speakers up front and MB Quart Discus DKF 168 speakers in the rear. I have already upgraded my head unit to an Alpine 9856. I am trying to keep this in the $100-150 range. I would like to buy a new amp vs. a used one. Do you guys have any suggestions?? Thank you in advance for all your help.

Old 01-10-2007, 09:35 AM
first thing is first the refernce are a good damn speaker however order the rce213 which is a 5.25" speaker instead of the 6x8. they should come with a plate to put into a 5x7 hole. if not any audio shop in your area should have the 5.25 to 5x7 adapter. the round speaker will give you better sound quality and if you ever leave the ford world the speakers can come with you. As for amps i would highly recomend the 300/4 jl. we did theese combitantions a lot and the quarts love power. you do not need to worry about overpowering the quarts so dont be consirned. if tune them correctly you will be amazed.

Old 01-10-2007, 09:37 AM
Originally Posted by Coastietech
I want to buy an amp but because I have no prior experience with car audio I don't even know where to start. This amp is going to power my front and rear speakers. I plan on putting MB Quart Reference RCE 268 speakers up front and MB Quart Discus DKF 168 speakers in the rear. I have already upgraded my head unit to an Alpine 9856. I am trying to keep this in the $100-150 range. I would like to buy a new amp vs. a used one. Do you guys have any suggestions?? Thank you in advance for all your help.