2004 - 2008 F-150

Fuel Door broke

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2011, 04:00 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Fuel Door broke

My fuel door has never stayed open on its own, was always retracted when filling with fuel, basically closed on the pump handle. Awhile back I seen another F150 this body generation at the pump and noticed his fuel door stayed open when he opened it, made me scratch my head wondering if mine was always broke, well it turns out it is.

Well a week ago a spring fell out and now it stays open and will not close. Here is a pic. This is embarrassing.. I studied the cap and it looks like the door cover is clipped onto the hinge section, is it? Or is it also glued on? I do not want to break it. I am replacing the entire assembly ( only $30 at the dealer ) and just putting my cap onto the new hinge, how does the cap come off the hinge part?

A photo of what I mean.

Old 01-21-2011, 04:12 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts
can't really tell much from that picture darren, but I would recommend looking at the new one and see what it looks like before you try and mess with the old one

Old 01-21-2011, 04:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What spring are you talking about? I thought the only spring was the one actually back in the cubby.

like here:

Old 01-21-2011, 06:22 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
mine does the same thing ive been using double sided tape on every refill and im getting tried of it. i know i broke the clips or the spring because i heard it fall when i closed the door and it didnt stay shut. i tried looking for whatever broke but didnt find anything. let us know how you fix this or if there is a easier way than just replacing the whole thing thanks..

Old 01-21-2011, 06:31 PM

Originally Posted by Patman03SprCrw
can't really tell much from that picture darren, but I would recommend looking at the new one and see what it looks like before you try and mess with the old one