2009 - 2014 F-150
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Integrated Trailer Brake Controller ??

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2009, 07:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Integrated Trailer Brake Controller ??

I have a 09 5.4 XLT w/ tow package 3.55 gears. Has anyone had the the factory trailer brake controller installed at the dealer ?? If so , how much ??? I am new to towing and we are in the process of purchasing a 26 ft travel trailer.. It seems the ford controller integrates with the display on the dash and has some bells and whistles that aftermarket units dont...

Also, How difficult is it to install an aftermarket unit from an auto parts store and how much cheaper will that be ??? I already have the plug by the receiver installed from the factory....

Also, How well will this truck do pulling 6k pounds ???? I am somewhat intimidated by doing this, I have never pulled more than about 1k pounds with anything....

Old 06-15-2009, 08:03 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I had my Ford brake controller installed by my dealer - cost was $290 for the controller and $40 for installation/programming.

You can install an aftermarket unit yourself if you choose:

http://www.etrailer.com/tv-brake-con...ford-f150.aspx

I highly recommend going with the Ford integrated controller.

Lots of reading on the forum here:

https://www.f150online.com/forums/se...archid=2817707

Old 06-15-2009, 01:51 PM
The dealer is trying to tell me that its not available as an accessory only as OEM...... That is hard to believe, the wording in the owners manual says its available from the dealer....

HELP !!!!!!!!

Old 06-15-2009, 02:23 PM
brake controller

I can't speak about the Ford controller except that it is definitely available from the dealer - if you get the oem controller, the computer needs to be programmed (I'm not sure why)