2004 - 2008 F-150

2004 F150 5.4 stalling out

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2020, 09:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 F150 5.4 stalling out

Hello folks. I hope I'm doing this right. I'm a rookie at these forums. Anyways, I have a 2004 f150 5.4. The other day while driving the truck, I got stopped at a stop light. While waiting for the light to turn green, my truck started stalling out. Never did die but I thought it was going to. My check engine light came on and was flashing. I pulled the truck off to the side of the road, pushed on the gas pedal and it stopped and seemed to be running fine. I let it sit for a few days. Went to town about 3 days later and it done it again as I pulled back into the house. I noticed while it was doing it, my oil pressure guage would drop then go back to normal. It done this the whole time I let it sit and run. No change in sound in the motor while it was dropping and coming back up. It seems to only do this when it warms up. I've changed camshaft position sensors and didn't help. Someone told me to drain my oil and check for metal shavings. I did and there wasn't any. So, my problem is when my truck gets warm, my oil pressure guage bottoms out then go to normal and the truck tries to die. It hasn't yet, but it tries. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Old 12-28-2020, 11:04 PM
glc
Received 763 Likes on 706 Posts
You probably need a timing job and new oil pump. If the oil pressure drops too low, the cam phasers don't work. Try using a heavier oil.

Old 12-29-2020, 10:15 AM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
Does the engine run quietly with no loud clicking? If so, I think I would put a couple bottles of chevron techron in the gas and some seafoam or your engine cleaner of choice in the oil and clean the engine per the cleaner instructions. Then use some thicker oil.

Old 12-29-2020, 10:50 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 259 Likes on 250 Posts