2004 - 2008 F-150

2005 F150 5.4L strange misfire and lean/rich codes

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2018, 03:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2005 F150 5.4L strange misfire and lean/rich codes

Hi everyone I am really in need of some help, I have been trying to figure out what the issue is with my truck (2005 F150 with a 5.4L). It has 145K miles on it.

To preface: I'm really lost, I have been working on cars for many many years now, and I can't figure this out. I work M-F at one job and Sat and Sunday another job, so I didn't have time to work on my truck and it's not my primary mode of transport (maybe gets 15 miles a week at most). It started having an issue and I took it to a shop because I just didn't have time to work on it.

So let me kind of give you a sense as to what is going on.
I got my truck and over time it slowly developed a tick on the top end, I initially thought it was a phaser or the timing tensioner that was going bad, but after bringing it to a shop they told me the cam was fried. The one lobe was worn down pretty bad, they sent me pics of the cam still in the truck, they told me a price to replace it, I agreed and they replaced the cam.