2004 - 2008 F-150

difference between Flow 40s, and Super 40's

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2005, 05:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
difference between Flow 40s, and Super 40's

I dont really get the difference, is the super quieter? I want it nice and loud, but not raspy and not that much drone...i can take some, but i dont want it like interupting cabin conversations either.

Old 07-22-2005, 05:34 PM
Suspended
05STX,

You said it perfect man. I've been asking this question for 3 months now on here and never have gotten a clear response. I just don't think anyone really knows the difference. There are 50% that say they love the flow 40 on their new trucks, and 50% say they hate it and it's too quiet. Well, what does too quiet mean? I know what a 40 sounds like on my '93 f150, good but could stand a little bit more. I figured these new trucks like my new 5.4 would be much louder, so I figured a 40 would work. But I do have a certain drone in my '93, but not bad, and I thought maybe that would be louder in my new 5.4, so I considered the super 40. ...but, like you said, what is a super 40 and what does it sound like??? If it is as loud as a 40 all the time except at cruising speeds (which means eliminating the drone mostly) then I'd buy it. But now some are saying 'it's just a marketing gimmick.' So who knows, maybe someone will post on here this time and help us out. Even 2 guys at the exhaust shop I talked to told me 2 different opposite stories about 40's and super 40's. I like flowmaster, I would put on a muffler for sound, not necessarily for gaining HP or something.....but I also don't want to lose any. I just don't know, hopefully some good intelligent person can help out on here that is familiar with both. And wouldn't you know it, flowmaster doesn't even have any decent sound clips for our trucks.

Old 07-22-2005, 05:43 PM
ya i noticed that too, no sound clips anywhere...