2004 - 2008 F-150

Low-speed backing throttle concerns...

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2005, 08:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low-speed backing throttle concerns...

Anyone have any trouble with "pinpoint" backing? I'm a contractor, so I need to back close to porches, loading docks, and dumpsters, and it seems like the throttle gets away from me...like I'm doing fine...just a bit more...almost there...then the throttle revs and I have to jam on the brakes to keep from hitting what's behind me...

Would a throttle/PCM reflash help the low-speed stuff? I've heard about guys wanting better full-throttle response for pulling out in front of dump trucks and the like, but how about the low-speed tiny-bits-o'-throttle stuff?

And yes, since I know you want to know, I did hit one dumpster due to the throttle...nothing more embarassing than having people think you don't know how to drive.

Old 06-07-2005, 09:27 PM
Wow, that's a drag. I have to back my truck up about 80 feet every time I drive it, and I have never had any sort of backing problem. I have even nailed it pretty hard (stupid) backing up, and again, no problem.
This is not normal.
Reflash couldn't hurt...
Also, some few trucks had a throttle plate/body problem, I have read.
Good luck
Chris

Old 06-07-2005, 10:09 PM
Nuke...I have an early '04 that has never been reflashed and I experience the same issue in reverse. I cope with it by softly tapping the accel. repeatedly, but it's a PITA.

Actually, I like/prefer the throttle lag in the forward gears as it makes for a very smooth type of driving that I (and many of my passengers) favor. Now, when driving the spouse's Olds, I find the standard throttle response very disconcerting.

Old 06-08-2005, 12:29 PM