1997 - 2003 F-150

Noise When Braking at Low Speeds <10 MPH Coming to Stop

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2021, 09:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noise When Braking at Low Speeds <10 MPH Coming to Stop

Need a little help with my 2002 F150 Lariat SuperCrew 4WD. Should say right up front I am by no means a mechanic, but I can follow directions. I'm trying to figure out this problem hoping that I have a better understanding of what it could be and fixing it myself or know enough to tell a Ford tech what it might be. Repairs have already been attempted and money spent to no avail.

So for the last year or so I've been getting an intermittent grinding/scrapping sound at low speed when braking to a stop. Seems to be getting worse and more persistent. Doesn't happen at higher speeds, basically when I'm coming to a stop, but again not all the time. The brakes have new rotors/pads/calipers. Pads have been replaced multiple times. Parking brake has been rebuilt. Noticed that "sometimes" I can stop the truck and put the parking brake on 2-3 times and the sound goes away for a little while. The noise is louder now than ever and sounds like lite metal on metal sometimes and other times just a lite squeal, like when new pads "kinda". Sometimes it will happen from the moment I start to drive other times it takes driving around for a while before it starts happening. People think I'm a bit crazy as it rarely does it when others are around, though it's happening enough now that people have heard it. I assumed it was brakes and believed it to be the front but now I'm pretty sure it's coming from the rear.