Bilstein Report

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2006, 08:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bilstein Report

Yesterday I installed 2489's in front and 2490's in the rear of my 2001 4X4 Off Road. The rear install was somewhat of a hassle due to the well known top mount access problem. I quickly decided to start cutting. While many would cringe at the thought of cutting a crossmember I must say I've been a welder/fabricator/machinist for 30 years and have successfully modified and built numerous vehicles. That said, I plasma-cut a window directly behind the upper shock mount, ensuring there was adequate width to get one pawls-worth of rotation on a ratcheting box end wrench. Next I fabricated a doubler plate to surround the new access hole and welded it in place. A few nuts and bolts later and the rear was done. The front was simple, straight wrenching, no special tolls required-well maybe one, the upper stud on the 'steins seems a bit short for the supplied donuts, SOOO, off to the bandsaw for a "reduction". I took ~1/16" off the flat side of each and dressed them on the belt sander to return a radius to the outer edge. If anyone wants to try this I would advise you to fixture the donut with a wooden dowel thru the center that is a tight fit for 2 reasons, First the saw will try to grab the rubber very aggressively and this gives you adequate control, and Second, you can rotate as you cut to ensure you get a straight cut. You could also do a nice job with a hand hacksaw and a vise.