Total newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 11:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Total newbie question

Ok, after getting completely fed up with the crappy radio stations around here, I decided to spring for a satellite radio. I'm not really sure what's the best route to take as far as getting one, though. I have a 2005 F150 STX with the built-in 6 CD changer. I don't have the built-in jack that the newer models have (not as far as I can tell, anyway) so I don't even know how well I could do a plug-and-play unit. I'm not opposed to swapping out the dash unit, as the CD player has given me trouble in the past and I only listen to 1 CD at a time anyway (yeah, I didn't really need to drop the extra $$ for the upgrade package when I bought it). Any advice or suggestions on what I can do here? Thanks in advance!

Old 01-25-2008, 09:26 AM
As far as I can see, sounds like you want a new head unit anyways, good idea, and I think you can do more with that. Others here have told me to get an IP Bus hookup, see thread a few down on the Sirius FM adapter, added to a Sportster 4 or 5, Starmate 4 or whatever. You can get from Pioneer for example a box that controlls Sirius or XM through the head unit, but then it's a fixed in one car unit. I'm not huge on wiring or electronics but I got a pretty simple setup and it works great:

Pioneer DEH-P6600- a couple years old now
Installation kit for above radio in my 2000 f-150
Sirius Starmate 4 unit
Sirius FM direct adapter

Others can hook you up with all kinds of extra info or better ways to go, but search a bit and look on peoples installations etc.

Old 01-25-2008, 06:39 PM
DRJ
Are you looking to get Sirius or XM?

Old 02-08-2008, 07:45 AM
The factory setup for Sirius satellite radio is a separate component from the head unit. The Sirius receiver mounts below the head unit and plugs into it via a cable.

Old 02-24-2008, 08:57 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post