Pre-1997 Models

'95 F-150 I6, tuning the computer?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 01:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'95 F-150 I6, tuning the computer?

I was curious if anybody has any idea what hardware and software is required to tune the computer in the '95 model trucks? When my engine eventually gives up the ghost (maybe in another 120k miles) I think I would like to rebuild it for a little more power. I'm thinking a cam, headers, etc. Being a speed density system, I know that some tuning would be required to get everything right again.

I've had a lot of experience tuning with similar vintage GM cars, my heavily modified Corvette included. For these I use TunerCAT and a Pocket Programmer to flash a new EPROM. Is there similar software for the Ford products? I'm sure there is plenty of stuff out there for tuning Mustangs, but it seems like the I6 would use a different computer, or be a little more obscure at least.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Old 03-19-2008, 03:39 PM
I'm not sure if there is anything in terms of support for the I6. Some of the 302 trucks could use modified Mustang programming and the twEECer software, but only certain codes and certain options were avaiable to them even.

Short of getting one of the aftermarket guys to do a tune, it might be hard to find any way to take the DIY route. And actually if you find a good tuner it will probably be a time saver in the long run. Excpet for vehicles with a large user and support base, most people spend WAY too much time trying to get everything right. I know years ago on one of the twEECer forums a whole bunch of guys admitted that for the time they spent in search of the perfect tune, they could have made enough money to get one of the aftermarket guys to do it, and then some.

I don't think the user base is nearly as large as those using the TunerCat stuff, so you're almost on your own even within supported systems.

Old 03-19-2008, 03:54 PM